Frequently Asked Questions

General

  • What are consolidated Acts and regulations?

    When the federal government makes changes to Canadian law, often it will create "amending" Acts or regulations. These amending documents make changes to existing laws. For example, if the government wishes to add a new offence to the Criminal Code, it will not rewrite the entire document or create a new, separate Code, but will create an amending Act. The amending Act will add new sections or make changes to existing sections of the Criminal Code. A consolidated Act or regulation is one that has been updated and incorporates the amendments into the original text.

    The Justice Laws Website provides a consolidation, or updated version, of the federal Acts and regulations maintained by the Department of Justice as a convenient way for the public to view the state of the law, without having to carry out research and put together the various amended provisions.

  • Are the consolidated Acts and regulations  the official versions?

    Yes. As of June 1, 2009, all consolidated Acts and regulations on the Justice Laws Website are "official", meaning that they can be used for evidentiary purposes. This is the result of the coming into force on that date of amendments made to the Statute Revision Act, which has been renamed the Legislation Revision and Consolidation Act. For more information see the Important Note page and section 31 of the Legislation Revision and Consolidation Act.

  • How often is the website updated?

    The Justice Laws Website is generally updated on a weekly basis.

  • How current are the Acts and regulations?

    Each Act and regulation in the database store their own consolidation date. The current-to date is displayed in the header area of every document. In general, most of the Acts will be current to the same date and most of the regulations will be current to the same date, but the updating system does allow documents to be current to different dates.

  • What does the last amended date mean?

    The last amended date, displayed in the header area of Acts and regulations and on the PDF cover page where applicable, shows the date on which the Act or regulation was last modified by amendment. This date differs from the current-to date and only changes when an amendment is applied.

  • In what format are dates displayed on the Justice Laws Website?

    Dates are displayed in the YYYY-MM-DD format.

  • What does the shading of provisions mean?

    A new feature has been added to the consolidated Laws on the Justice Laws Website: provisions in original enactments that are not yet in force will be shaded. As those provisions are brought into force, the shading will be removed. This will make it possible to easily identify which provisions of original enactments are or are not yet in force.

    Note that this feature is effective only as of November 25, 2009 and therefore does not apply to point-in-time searches before that date.

  • What are the citations found at the end of some sections and schedules?

    The citations indicate that the section or schedule has been amended. Each citation refers to an amending Act or regulation.  The citations represent the history of the particular provision.

  • What do the square brackets mean?

    The square brackets often indicate that the text inside is editorial and not part of the law. We will often add helpful information inside of the editorial notes such as coming in force dates.

  • What are "Related Provisions” in consolidated Acts or regulations?

    The text of a consolidated law may be followed by additional material under the heading RELATED PROVISIONS. These provisions are transitional or application provisions or provisions that are in some other way related to the Act or regulation in which they appear, but they are not part of that Act or regulation.

    The citation appearing before the provision identifies the Act or statutory instrument (SOR or SI) that is the source of the provision. Source Acts enacted in 2001 or later may be found in the Annual Statutes collection (see left navigation menu).

  • What are the Amendments Not in Force?

    The Amendments Not in Force link, found in the Table of Contents page in some consolidated Acts and regulations,opens a list of provisions taken from enacted "amending" Acts or regulations.  These provisions however are not in force (eg. not yet in effect) at the current consolidation date.  Therefore the prescribed changes have not yet been made to the consolidated text.  These provisions are included for convenience of reference.

    The Amendments Not in Force link can also be accessed in the browse drop-down menu when navigating through an Act or regulation in Document View.

  • How can I see previous points in time for consolidated Acts and regulations?

    The Previous Versions link, when found in the header area of consolidated Acts and regulations, opens a list of full documents available for previous versions. Click on the desired time frame from the range of dates to see the legislation in force for the selected period.

    To see previous versions of individual amended sections and schedules, click on the Previous Version link when found at the end of the section or schedule while viewing the current consolidation. A new page opens with the content of the previous version and the option to cycle between points in time by using the Previous Version and Next Version links. The in-force date range for that particular section or schedule can be seen at the top of the page.

  • How far back does the Point-in-time data go?

    Generally, the Point-in-time data is available from January 1, 2003 onwards for the Acts and March 22, 2006 onwards for the regulations.

    The Point-in-time data for the  Income Tax Act and Regulations is available from August 31, 2004 onwards.

  • What are the Annual Statutes?

    The Annual Statutes accessible on the Justice Laws Website are a collection of the Public General Acts in the form in which they were originally enacted by Parliament in a given calendar year. They include new Acts as well as Acts and provisions that amend existing Acts. Please see the Canada Gazette Part III for the official versions of the individual original Acts.

  • Where can I go to find Annual Statutes enacted before 2001?

    The Justice Laws website does not include Annual Statutes enacted before 2001. Please see the Canada Gazette Part III for the Annual Statutes published from 1998 to the present. Paper versions of Annual Statutes enacted before 1998 are available in most public libraries.

  • Where can I go to find the texts of Appropriation Acts?

    Appropriation Acts are not included in the database of consolidated federal legislation. The texts of Appropriation Acts from 1999-2000 to the present can be found on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website at the following address:

    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/est-pre/index-eng.asp

  • How do I print a document?

    Print the PDF version of a document by clicking on the PDF links provided.

    Print any page on the Justice Laws Website by using the Print option available in the Internet browser being used. The website automatically removes the menus and web-specific items for the purpose of printing a hard copy from the HTML version. Please see the directions outlined in the Printing Help page for detailed printing help.

  • How do I save an XML version of the current consolidation for an Act or regulation?

    An XML (Extensible Markup Language) version of the entire consolidated Act or regulation is available in the top information area on the Table of Contents page for Acts and regulations. Right-click on the XML link and choose Save Target As to save the file on your computer.

    Clicking the XML link will open the XML file in the Internet browser.

  • What is the list of repealed statutes included on the main page of the Table of Public Statutes and Responsible Ministers?

    To reduce the size of the Table of Public Statutes and Responsible Ministers, the information concerning statutes that were repealed more than a year ago has been removed from the Table. To keep a record of these repeals, the titles and information about the repeals have been moved to a separate page on the website. Generally speaking, the statutes on the list were repealed after 1984, since statutes repealed before then were omitted from the Table following the enactment of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985.

Search

  • How do I search the database?

    A search can be performed by using the Basic or Advanced Search pages which can be accessed on the left navigational menu. The search engine offers a variety of powerful searching techniques which are explained in the Search Help pages.

  • How do I search in a particular Act, regulation or Annual Statute?

    In the header area on the Table of Contents page for each Act, regulation or Annual Statute, there is the option to perform a search within that particular document.

    Alternatively, in the Basic and Advanced Search pages, use the Title or the Chapter/Registration # fields to filter the results of your search query for a particular Act or regulation. See Search Help pages for more details.

  • How do I search previous points in time for consolidated Acts and regulations?

    Point-in-time searches can be done using the Advanced Search. Enter the point-in-time date in the Select point in time field. Using the Select point in time search field together with the other search fields will return search results for previous versions of consolidated legislation. See Search Help for more detailed information

Navigation

  • What is the Table of Contents tab?

    The Table of Contents tab, found on the right side of document pages, is a slide out menu which offers two methods of navigating through documents by selecting the appropriate tab.

    The Headings tab displays the Table of Contents for the document which includes a list of headings, and the section number that follows each heading, that link to their exact location in Document View.

    The Sections/Schedules tab opens a drop-down menu that lists section ranges and schedules and allows you to easily navigate all pages of the document.

  • How do I switch between the English and French versions of a document?

    In the top navigation bar at the top of every page on the website, you will see the link English or Français. These links will take you to the equivalent page in the language specified.

  • Can I see a side-by-side version of the French and English Acts or regulations?

    Yes. A bilingual side-by-side PDF version of consolidated Acts and regulations is available on the Justice Laws Website. Just click on the PDF link provided.

  • How can I see a list of provisions and easily navigate to them in PDF documents of consolidated legislation?

    A Table of Provisions, which lists all provisions and associated section and page numbers, is included at the beginning of PDF documents. Clicking on a provision will link directly to its location within the document.

    Bookmarks, which lists all headings and the section number that follows each heading, are displayed on the left side of the PDF viewer and allow for easy navigation by linking to provisions within the PDF document.

  • How can I find regulations made pursuant to a particular Act?

    In the Table of Contents page of the particular Act, the regulations under the Act, if any, are listed under the heading Regulations made under this Act.

    Alternatively, clicking on the “R” on the Consolidated Acts list for a particular Act will also link to the Regulations made under this Act.

  • Where are the “Other Documents” that used to be available on the left navigation menu?

    The Other Documents page, that listed the documents published in the Canada Gazette Part II, which are not made pursuant to any statutory authority, has been removed. These documents, that include proclamations and orders in council, are now included in the Consolidated Regulations list.

  • How can I create stable links to an Act or regulation on my website?

    You can provide stable links to the content of the Justice Laws Website by using the method outlined on the How to Create Stable Links page. You can link to the table of contents, the full document or a particular section of any Act or regulation.

  • What are “breadcrumbs” and what are they used for?

    Breadcrumbs, located below the main Justice banner at the top of the page, are navigational links that allow you to keep track of where you are on the Justice Laws Website. Breadcrumbs provide links back, in hierarchical order, to previous pages you have navigated through to get to the current page.

Foire aux questions

Général

  • Qu’entend-on par lois et règlements codifiés?

    Lorsque le gouvernement fédéral veut apporter des changements aux textes législatifs canadiens, il crée des lois et des règlements modificatifs. Ceux-ci ont pour but de modifier les documents législatifs existants. Si par exemple le gouvernement désire ajouter une nouvelle infraction au Code criminel, il ne récrira pas le document en entier ou ne créera pas un nouveau Code séparé, mais il optera plutôt pour une loi modificative qui aura pour but d’ajouter de nouveaux articles ou de modifier les articles existants du Code criminel. Une loi ou un règlement codifié comprend toutes les modifications (suppressions, remplacements et ajouts) qui leur ont été apportées depuis leur première publication.

    Le Site Web de la législation (Justice) fournit une codification des lois et règlements fédéraux comme une façon pratique pour le public de visionner l’état d’un document législatif sans avoir à effectuer les recherches et assembler les dispositions modificatives.

  • Les lois et règlements ont-ils un caractère officiel?

    Oui. À partir du 1er juin 2009, les codifications des lois et des règlements sur le Site Web de la législation (Justice) sont officielles et font ainsi preuve de leur contenu. Le caractère officiel des codifications des lois et des règlements résulte de l’entrée en vigueur, le 1er juin 2009, de modifications à la Loi sur la révision des lois, dont le titre est devenu Loi sur la révision et la codification des textes législatifs. Plus d’informations sont disponibles au lien suivant : Note importante.

  • À quelle fréquence le site des lois et règlements est-il mis à jour?

    Le site des lois et règlements est généralement mis à jour une fois par semaine.

  • Quel est le niveau de mise à jour des lois et règlements?

    Chaque loi et règlement dans la base de données ont leur propre date de codification. Celle-ci est indiquée à l’entête de chaque document. En général, la majorité des lois sont à jour à la même date ainsi que les règlements, mais le système de mise à jour permet aux documents d’être à jour à différentes dates.

  • Qu’entend-on par date de la dernière modification?

    La date de la dernière modification, affichée à l’entête des lois et règlements et à la page couverture du PDF, s’il y a lieu, indique la date à laquelle la loi ou le règlement a été modifié la dernière fois. Cette date diffère de celle indiquée sous « à jour » et ne change que lorsque la modification s’applique.

  • Sous quel format les dates sont-elles présentées dans le Site Web de la législation (Justice)?

    Les dates sont présentées sous le format « année-mois-jour ».

  • Pourquoi certaines dispositions sont-elles ombrées?

    Une nouvelle caractéristique a été ajoutée aux codifications des lois et des règlements dans le Site Web de la législation (Justice) : les dispositions originales des lois et des règlements qui ne sont toujours pas en vigueur figureront en ombré. À l’entrée en vigueur de ces dispositions, l’ombré sera enlevé. Cette présentation permettra de facilement reconnaître les dispositions originales qui sont en vigueur et celles qui ne le sont pas.

    Cette caractéristique ne s’applique toutefois qu’à compter du 25 novembre 2009, elle est donc inopérante quant aux recherches relatives aux versions antérieures à cette date.

  • Que sont les références qui se trouvent à la fin de certains articles et annexes?

    Ce sont des références aux lois et règlements modificatifs qui permettent au lecteur de retracer l’évolution de la disposition.

  • Quelle est l’utilité des crochets dans un texte législatif?

    Dans la majorité des cas, ils servent à indiquer des passages qui ne font pas partie du texte. Par exemple, les dates d’entrée en vigueur.

  • Que sont les « dispositions connexes » dans les lois ou règlements codifiés ?

    On peut trouver, à la suite d’un texte législatif codifié, une rubrique appelée DISPOSITIONS CONNEXES, où sont reproduites des dispositions transitoires ou d’application, ou d’autres dispositions qui s’appliquent à la loi ou au règlement, qui, édictées par une loi ou un règlement modificatifs, ne sont pas destinées à être intégrées au texte.

    La citation qui précède la disposition identifie la loi ou le texte réglementaire (DORS ou TR) qui est la source de la disposition. Les lois sources édictées en 2001 ou après peuvent être trouvées sous les Lois annuelles (voir le menu de navigation à gauche).

  • Qu’entend-on par « modifications non en vigueur »?

    Ce sont des modifications qui, bien que faisant partie d’une loi qui a reçu la sanction royale ou d’un règlement modificatif, ne sont pas en vigueur. Elles ne sont donc pas encore codifiées. On peut les consulter en cliquant sur le lien « Modifications non en vigueur » qui se trouve, le cas échéant, dans la table des matières.

    On peut aussi accéder au lien « Modifications non en vigueur » lorsqu’on parcourt le texte d’une loi ou d’un règlement dans Affichage du document.

  • Comment puis-je consulter les versions antérieures des lois et règlements codifiés?

    Le lien Versions antérieures, présenté à l’entête des lois et règlements codifiés, conduit à la liste des textes complets disponibles des versions antérieures, lorsqu’elles existent. Vous pouvez cliquer sur le lien des dates à choisir pour voir la législation en vigueur à ces dates.

    Pour voir les versions antérieures d’articles et d’annexes modifiés individuellement, cliquez sur le lien Version précédente situé à la suite de l’article ou de l’annexe dans la version codifiée courante. Une nouvelle page s’ouvrira avec le contenu de la version précédente; vous aurez aussi l’option de vous promener entre les différentes versions en utilisant les liens Version précédente et Version suivante. La date d’entrée en vigueur de cet article ou annexe apparaît en haut de la page.

  • Jusqu’à quelle date peut-on remonter en effectuant une recherche dans les versions antérieures des lois et des règlements?

    On peut remonter jusqu’au 1er janvier 2003 pour les lois et jusqu’au 22 mars 2006 pour les règlements.

    En ce qui concerne la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et le Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu, on peut remonter jusqu’au 31 août 2004.

  • Que sont les lois annuelles?

    On entend par lois annuelles d’intérêt public celles qui sont publiées, telles qu’elles ont été adoptées par le Parlement, dans le recueil annuel des lois du Canada sur le site Web de la législation (Justice). Elles comprennent à la fois les nouvelles lois et les lois et dispositions qui modifient les lois actuelles. Les versions officielles sont disponibles au lien suivant : Gazette du Canada Partie III.

  • Où puis-je trouver les lois annuelles datant d’avant 2001?

    Les lois annuelles datant d’avant 2001 ne font pas partie du site Web de la législation (Justice). Les lois datant de 1998 jusqu’à présent sont disponibles au lien suivant : Gazette du Canada Partie III. Des versions papier des lois annuelles adoptées avant 1998 sont disponibles dans la plupart des bibliothèques publiques.

  • Où puis-je trouver les textes des lois de crédits?

    Les lois de crédits ne sont pas incluses dans la base de données de codification de la législation fédérale. Les textes des lois de crédits de 1999-2000 à ce jour sont disponibles sur le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada à l’adresse suivante :

    http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/est-pre/index-fra.asp

  • Comment imprimer un document?

    Pour imprimer un document en version PDF, cliquez sur le lien PDF fourni à cet effet.

    On peut imprimer n’importe quelle page du Site Web de la législation (Justice) en utilisant l’option d’impression disponible sur le navigateur internet utilisé. Le site Web supprime automatiquement les menus et les parties spécifiques au site Web dans le but d’imprimer une copie papier en format HTML. Pour des directives d’impression plus détaillées, veuillez vous référer à la page Impression.

  • Comment puis-je sauvegarder une loi ou un règlement actuel en version XML?

    Un lien XML (Langage extensible de balisage) d’une loi ou d’un règlement codifié est disponible en haut de page à la table des matières des lois et règlements. Cliquez sur le bouton de droite de la souris sur le lien XML et choisissez Enregistrer la cible sous pour sauvegarder le dossier dans votre ordinateur. Cliquer le lien XML ouvrira le dossier XML à la page internet.

  • Qu'est-ce que la liste des lois abrogées figurant sur la page principale du Tableau des lois d'intérêt public et des ministres responsables?

    Afin d'alléger le volume du Tableau des lois d'intérêt public et des ministres responsables, l'information concernant les lois abrogées il y a plus d'un an a été enlevée de celui-ci. Les titres et l'information au sujet des abrogations ont été déplacés sur une nouvelle page du site Web dans le but de conserver un registre de ces abrogations. En règle générale, les lois que l'on trouve dans la liste ont été abrogées après 1984, puisque les lois abrogées avant cette année n’étaient pas contenues dans le Tableau après l'édiction des Lois révisées du Canada (1985).

Recherche

  • Comment effectuer une recherche dans la base de données?

    Une recherche peut être effectuée en utilisant les pages Recherche de base ou Recherche avancée retrouvées sur le menu de gauche. Le moteur de recherche offre une variété de techniques de recherches expliquées dans les pages Aide à la recherche.

  • Comment effectuer une recherche dans une loi, un règlement ou une loi annuelle en particulier?

    À l’entête de la page Table des matières de chaque loi, règlement ou loi annuelle, on trouvera l’option d’effectuer une recherche dans le document choisi.

    On pourra aussi, dans les pages Recherche de base ou Recherche avancée, utiliser les champs de filtration Titre ou Chapitre / Numéro d’enregistrement pour préciser la recherche à propos d’une loi ou d’un règlement en particulier. Voir Aide à la recherche pour plus de détails.

  • Comment puis-je rechercher les versions antérieures des lois et règlements codifiés?

    On peut effectuer une recherche des versions antérieures en utilisant la page « Recherche avancée ». Vous devez indiquer la date choisie dans le champ Sélectionner la date de la version antérieure. En utilisant ce dernier champ et les autres champs de recherche vous obtiendrez les versions précédentes de la législation codifiée. Voir Aide à la recherche pour plus de détails.

Navigation

  • Qu’est-ce que l’onglet Table des matières?

    L’onglet Table des matières, situé sur le côté droit des pages du document, est un menu coulissant qui offre deux méthodes de navigation en sélectionnant l’onglet approprié.

    L’onglet Titres affiche la table des matières du document qui comprend une liste des titres, leur numéro d’article ainsi qu’un lien qui conduit à leur emplacement exact dans Affichage du document.

    L’onglet Articles/Annexes affiche un menu déroulant qui répertorie les articles et les annexes et qui permet de naviguer facilement à travers toutes les pages du document.

  • Comment puis-je passer de la version anglaise à la version française d’un document?

    Dans la barre de menu commune de chaque page du site Web, vous trouverez le lien English ou Français. Ces liens vous donneront les pages correspondant à la langue choisie.

  • Puis-je voir une version bilingue d’une loi codifiée ou d’un règlement codifié côte-à-côte?

    Oui. Une version PDF bilingue côte-à-côte des codifications de toutes les lois et règlements est maintenant disponible sur le site Web. On peut avoir accès aux versions PDF au début de chaque page d’une loi ou d’un règlement. Simplement cliquez sur le lien PDF fourni à cet effet.

  • Comment puis-je voir une liste des dispositions et naviguer facilement vers elles dans les documents PDF de la législation codifiée?

    Une table des matières, qui énumère toutes les dispositions et les articles auxquels elles se rapportent ainsi que les numéros de pages, est présentée au début des documents PDF. Cliquer sur une disposition vous reliera directement à son emplacement dans le document.

    Des signets, qui énumèrent tous les titres et le numéro d’article qui suit chaque titre, sont affichés sur le côté gauche de la fenêtre PDF et permettent une navigation facile par lien vers les dispositions dans le document PDF.

  • Comment puis-je trouver un règlement pris en vertu d’une loi spécifique?

    À la page de la table des matières d’une loi, les règlements pris en vertu de celle-ci, s’il y en a, sont affichés sous Règlements pris en vertu de cette loi.

    De plus, en cliquant sur le lien « R » situé à la droite d’une loi sélectionnée à la page Loi codifiées, on trouvera la liste Règlements pris en vertu de cette loi.

  • Où se trouvent maintenant les « Autres documents » qui étaient précédemment disponibles dans le menu de gauche?

    La page Autres documents, dans laquelle on retrouvait des documents publiés dans la Gazette du Canada Partie II, a été supprimée. Ces documents, qui comprennent notamment des proclamations et des décrets qui ont été pris en vertu d’une autorité autre que statutaire, se retrouvent maintenant sous Règlements codifiés.

  • Comment créer des liens stables avec une loi ou un règlement sur mon site Web?

    Voir Comment créer des liens stables pour obtenir tous les renseignements nécessaires à la création de liens avec la table des matières, le texte complet ou un article en particulier d’une loi ou d’un règlement.

  • Qu’entend-on par « Fil d’Ariane » et quelle est son utilisation?

    Le Fil d’Ariane, situé en haut de page sous la bannière principale, est le lien de navigation qui permet de savoir où vous vous trouvez sur le Site Web de la législation (Justice). Le fil d’Ariane fournit les liens, en ordre hiérarchique, des pages précédentes parcourues afin d’accéder à la page en cours.